BIFURCATIONS – Violin, Harpsichord, Electronics
Smock Alley Theatre, Dublin
5 December 2016, 8PM

Anna Murray Larissa O'Grady (photo: Robyson Vilaronga)

A programme of recent works for soloist, duo and electronics by Dublin Sound Lab composers Gráinne Mulvey, Ann Cleare, Fergal Dowling, and Scott McLaughlin and Donal Sarsfield.

Donal Sarsfield, The Luc Ferrari Piece (fixed media), 2012
Scott McLaughlin, Bifurcations in a Continuous System (MIDI keyboard, computer), 2011
Gráinne Mulvey, Perihelion/Aphelion (violin and fixed media), 2012
Fergal Dowling, Stops
VIII (violin, harpsichord and computer), 2014
Jean-Claude Risset, excerpts from Pentacle (harpsichord and 8-channel tape)
Ann Cleare, I am not a clockmaker either (harpsichord and live electronics), 2009

Larissa O'Grady (violin), Michael Quinn (harpsichord), Fergal Dowling (computer), Alexis Nealon (sound)

These five pieces take diverse approaches to that most current of forms – electronic chamber music. Exploring every combination of these small forces – soloist and fixed media, interactive duo, 'tape', surround sound – these five seemingly disparate works manage to share and combine an effortless playfulness with a sure-footed technique and a visceral outpouring of sound.

5 December 2016, 8pm
Smock Alley Theatre, Exchange Street Lower, Temple Bar, Dublin